Booking Through Thursday: Book gluttony!

booking_through_thursLet’s go Booking Through Thursday, shall we?

Book Gluttony! Are your eyes bigger than your book belly? Do you have a habit of buying up books far quicker than you could possibly read them? Have you had to curb your book buying habits until you can catch up with yourself? Or are you a controlled buyer, only purchasing books when you have run out of things to read?

Oh, how I wish I could write about what a great, controlled spender I am — only purchasing new books when I’ve dutifully made my way through everything in my possession. And, ironically, I was much more in control of my book buying when I worked at Borders.

But now? No. Oh, no. Since I know I’m going to be reading books for, oh, the next 70 years or so, I just buy it when it looks good. It goes in the proverbial stack — which is now three stacks, each with about 40 books. They own a corner of my bedroom.

My problems all lie with BookMooch. I love it! And that’s my problem, see. It nurses my very strong competitive edge, which isn’t good. Since books I want seem to only appear sporadically, as soon as a certain title is available to mooch, I have to have it. So I get it. It goes in the stack. The cycle repeats.

And don’t get me started on my Amazon splurges . . . when I just can’t wait for a book anymore, and am getting sick over the fact that everyone else is blogging about this book and MomIwantthisbookTOO!! So I add it to the cart and . . . you know, add a few more books to there, too. For the free shipping, right? I mean, it makes more sense to get more books and spend $25 than it does to get less for the money and still have to pay to get them sent to me. That’s not smart spending, right?

Oh yes. Right.

14 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday: Book gluttony!

  1. You’d worked for Borders??? Cool!!! I haven’t tried on book exchanging but it sounds very interesting here. Perhaps I should try the BookMooch once. Thanks for sharing!
    Have a wonderful day!!

    Like

  2. I get them from the library, but i end up having to renew a lot sometimes. Until you can’t renew anymore. Then I cry and beg my mom to check it out so I can still have it with me.

    Like

  3. Proud to be a glutton, but I try not to buy. I grab the ones that I’m most desperate to read and leave the rest on a list.

    Recently I dig the goodwill stores which have great selection for a dollar or two, but they usually don’t shelve books in any order. So it’s a great way to while away an afternoon.

    Like

  4. Holy cow, I totally understand about the competitive edge of BookMooch. It frustrates me sometimes, when someone else gets to a book that I really want, but it’s not like I don’t have enough books to read, eh? I don’t even want to tell you how many books are in my–okay, I’m just going to stop now, before I shoot myself in the foot.

    Like

  5. I have the same problems that you do. Bookmooch, Amazon and to add to all of that, I have the added temptation of Barnes & Noble being right downstairs from me.

    Like

  6. my purchasing has slowed down considerably in the last year–i’ve been taking out books from the library because i just don’t have the ROOM for more books. 🙂 i have about 20 books in my TBR pile, but for each one i read, i get 4 more in the mail! oh, a book blogger’s job is never done. hahaha.

    Like

  7. BookMooch can be evil, I agree. However, a lot of the books on my wishlist don’t come up there very often. I have like 90 points saved up!

    You know, you can feel free to add MY book to your next Amazon order… it’ll help earn you free shipping AND make you a fan of the illustrious Trevor Wolff all at once. How can you resist?

    Like

Comments are closed.